Nigeria Center for Disease Control, Breakthrough ACTION Nigeria, and the African Field Epidemiology Network has officially unveiled Rapid 96.5 FM and Rapid TV News Reporter Onwuka Kingsley, and and 29 other journalists to participate in the first Media-EIS (Epidemiology, Infodemiology, and Social Behaviour Change) Fellowship Program.

As a fellow, Onwuka will have the privilege of enhancing his skills and knowledge in the fields of epidemiology, infodemiology, and social and behavior change/risk communication.

The MEDIA-EIS Fellowship Program is designed specifically for media professionals in the Print, Broadcast, and Online Media sectors. The selection process was rigorous, with over 700 applicants undergoing thorough screenings by the Media-EIS Secretariat.

His acceptance into the fellowship program underscores the vital role he has played as a journalists and in disseminating crucial health documentary on radio.

The Fellowship named a group of promising fellows who are set to become leaders in the field of disease control, basic epidemiology, effective social & behavior change communication as well as infodemic management.

READ ALSO:  Buhari Approves Adjustment Of Teachers Retirement Age

The fellows will have the opportunity to work on a wide range of public health projects, receive mentorship from experts, and engage in epidemiological fieldwork.

As the 2023 Media-EIS Fellowship cohort embarks on their journey, Nigeria eagerly anticipates the contributions they will make to public health. Their work will undoubtedly be instrumental in addressing global health challenges, including emerging infectious diseases, chronic illnesses, and health disparities.

The NCDC, BA-N, AFENET and the broader public health community are excited to welcome this new wave of dedicated professionals into the fold.

Other recipients who made it to the fellowship are:

1 Bilikis Lawal, FRCN, Lagos State

2 Enebeli Blessing, VON, Lagos State

3 Chukwuemeka Pascal, Hot FM, Imo State

4 David Arome, Freelance journalist, Nassarawa State

5 Chidera Aneke, Darling FM, Imo State

6 Kazeem Biriowo, Tribune, FCT

7 Haruna Yaya, Daily Trust, Gombe State

READ ALSO:  We Will Sanction Officials Behind Proposed Bread Levy-Yahaya Bello

8 Hauwa Umar, Voice of America, Kano State

9 Ezedimbu Karen, AIT, FCT

10 Hadiza Bawas, Karmed TV, Kano State

11 Onwuka Emmanuel, FAD FM Calabar

12 Lois Sambo, Aso Radio, FCT

13 Mariam Ileyemi, Premium Times, Lagos State

14 Misbahu Hamza, Nigeria Health Watch, Kano State

15 Mukhtar Usman, Premier FM, Kano State

16 Nike Adebowale, Premium Times, FCT

17 Nasir Babi, Garkuwa FM, Sokoto State

18 Nurudeen Akewushola, ICIR, FCT

19 Ojoma Akor, Daily Trust, FCT

20 Precious Ogaga, NTA, Delta State

21 Smith Nwokocha, PH Wakawaka, Rivers State

22 Rebecca Caleb, Gombe Media Corporation, Gombe State

23 Sodiq Ojurugbe, Punch, Lagos State

24 Toluwani Omotesho, Print Cabal Media, Lagos State

25 Vanessa Richard, Sparkling FM, Cross River State

26 Zack Onwe, Talk Health Nigeria, FCT

27 Rachel Iyema, NAN, FCT

28 Raphael Obasiohia, Bridge FM, Delta State

29 Yecenu Sasetu, Kiss FM, FCT

Do you have any information or event for candid reporters to publish or cover? Kindly Call us on 09019260726 or send us message on Whatsapp number 07034623382 or send us an email

Disclaimer: Candid Reporters publishes news, information, sports, opinions, and Interviews. The site includes both reported and edited content. Unmoderated posts and Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Candid Reporters or any employee thereof..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here