Former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar has won the presidential ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

To clinch the ticket, he floored Bukola Saraki, former senate president; Emmanuel Udom, Akwa Ibom governor; Nyesom Wike, Rivers governor; Ayo Fayose, former governor of Ekiti; Bala Mohammed, Bauch governor, among others.

The special national convention of the opposition party took place in the velodrome at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Abuja.

READ ALSO:  Lagos PDP Guber Candidate Reveals Why Funke Akindele Was Picked As Running Mate

Prior to the commencement of voting, Aminu Tambuwal, Sokoto governor, withdrew from the contest.

The governor asked his supporters to support the candidacy of Atiku.

Atiku emerged winner with 371 votes while Wike who came second scored 237 votes.

Sam Ohabunwa scored 1 vote while Pius Anyim scored 14 votes.

Udom Emmanuel scored 38 votes while Bauchi State governor, Bala Mohammed, scored 20 votes.

READ ALSO:  Supreme Court Reserves Judgement On PDP,LP Petition

The former Senate President, Bukola Saraki, got 70 votes

There were 12 voided votes.

Atiku’s position was boosted by last minutes withdrawal from the race by Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal.

Do you have any information or event for candid reporters to publish or cover? Kindly Call us on 09019260726 or send us message on Whatsapp number 07034623382 or send us an email

Disclaimer: Candid Reporters publishes news, information, sports, opinions, and Interviews. The site includes both reported and edited content. Unmoderated posts and Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Candid Reporters or any employee thereof..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here