Elvert Ayambem, the Speaker of the Cross River state house of assembly, has been impeached through a motion signed by 17 members of the assembly out of 25 members.

Ayambem was impeached during plenary on Wednesday over allegations bordering on financial misappropriation and incompetence.

The motion for the impeachment was moved by Effiong Ekarika, lawmaker representing Calabar south 1 constituency, and seconded by Omang Charles of Bekwarra constituency.

One of the lawmakers made a dash for the mace, which is the symbol of authority of the speaker.

However, the legislator with the mace refused to let go, leading to a struggle, a brawl and cacophony in the chamber.

In the impeachment notice, the lawmakers alleged that Ayambem misappropriated N48 million meant for the payment of electricity bills of the assembly complex and quarters.

READ ALSO:  SERAP Files Lawsuit Against Buhari Over Monitoring Of WhatsApp messages, phone calls, Others

The lawmakers also alleged that the impeached speaker misappropriated 2 percent of all revenue collected by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) monthly to the tune of N404 million.

Misappropriation of the sum of N19,437, 844.00 (Nineteen Million, Four Hundred and Thirty-Seven Thousand, Eight Hundred and forty-five Naira) from Local Government deduction and 11 months deductions which he allegedly failed to disclose to members,” the impeachment notice reads.

“Incompetence and wrong conduct of plenary proceedings: Un-parliamentary way of conducting proceedings. Appointment of members to move or second motions rather than allowing interested members to raise their hands.

“Non-compliance with the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.

READ ALSO:  Court Dismisses Suit Filed Against Gov Obaseki

“Arbitrary approval of expenditure in flagrant breach of the provisions of Section 9(1) of the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.

“Approvals beyond the limit which the Speaker can approve contrary to Section 9(10) of the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.”

The lawmakers who signed the impeachment notice are Kingsley Ntui, Okon Owuna, Samuel Neji Abang, Cyril James Omini, Stanley Nsemo, Charles Omang Omang, Thomas Aruku, Eyo Bassey, Bassey Bassey Effiong, Francis Onete Ogban Biase, Victor Nsa, Ovat Agbor, Pius Ashas Ashakia, Martins Achadu, Effiong Ekarika, Egbe Abeng Egbe, and Hilary Bisong.

In June 2023, Ayambem who represents Ikom 2 constituency, was elected speaker of the 10th assembly.

Do you have any information or event for candid reporters to publish or cover? Kindly Call us on 09019260726 or send us message on Whatsapp number 07034623382 or send us an email contact@candidreporters.com

Disclaimer: Candid Reporters publishes news, information, sports, opinions, and Interviews. The site includes both reported and edited content. Unmoderated posts and Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Candid Reporters or any employee thereof..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here