The All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed Bassey Otu, governor of Cross River state, as the chairman of its governorship primary election committee in Edo state.

The party declared the initial primary election inconclusive after some governorship aspirants were declared winners of the exercise.

Hope Uzodinma, governor of Imo and chairman of the panel when the primary was held on Saturday, had declared Dennis Idahosa, a member of the house of representatives, winner of the exercise.

READ ALSO:  How Police Rescued 50 Kidnapped Children In Ondo Church

However, Ojo Babatunde, spokesperson of the returning officers, said Sunday Dekeri, a lawmaker representing Etsako federal constituency in the house of representatives, polled 25,384 votes to defeat Idahosa.

In another twist of events, Monday Okpebholo, senator representing Edo central and a governorship aspirant, claimed that he won the election with over 6,000 votes.

In a notice on Wednesday, Suleiman Argungu, APC national organising secretary, said Rabiu Suleiman would serve as the secretary of the primary election committee.

READ ALSO:  Exclusive Interview: Buhari Blame Nigerians Over Corrupt Politicians,Hints On Terror Sponsors, Economy, Agriculture(see full details)

Shettima Shehu, Titilayo Laoye-Tomori, Nentanwe Yilwatde Goshwe, Umar Hassan, and Lawan Garba will serve as members of the committee.

Argungu named C. C Udenwa as chair of the appeals committee.

Muhammad Sarina, Udogu Anthony Chijoke, Muhammad Ali, and Yunusa Mohammed will serve as members of the appeals committee

Do you have any information or event for candid reporters to publish or cover? Kindly Call us on 09019260726 or send us message on Whatsapp number 07034623382 or send us an email

Disclaimer: Candid Reporters publishes news, information, sports, opinions, and Interviews. The site includes both reported and edited content. Unmoderated posts and Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Candid Reporters or any employee thereof..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here