At the ongoing presidential primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), a total of seven presidential hopefuls have stepped down from contesting and backed Bola Tinubu, former governor of Lagos.

The presidential primary is holding at the Eagle Square in Abuja.

Ibikunle Amosun, former Ogun state governor, and Kayode Fayemi, Ekiti governor, stepped down for Tinubu.

READ ALSO:  Tinubu Support Group Reveals APC Vice Presidential Candidate

Also, Dimeji Bankole, former speaker of the house of representatives; Muhammad Badaru, Jigawa governor; and Ajayi Boroffice, senator representing Ondo north, also withdrew from contesting the presidency and supported Tinubu.

Uju Ohanenye, the only female APC presidential aspirant, also said she would step down from the race, and support Tinubu.

They all announced their decision on Tuesday at the APC special convention to elect the presidential candidate of the ruling party.

READ ALSO:  Oshiomhole Speaks On Second Chance Of Leading APC

Earlier, Godswill Akpabio, former minister of Niger Delta affairs, had withdrawn from the race and endorsed Tinubu.

As of 12:17am, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo was making his presentation at the primary, while voting is yet to commence.


Leave A Reply