The Association of South East Town Union (ASETU), has expressed dissatisfaction on the outcome of presidential primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) and the All Progressives Congress(APC).

The group on Friday in a statement said it was a pointer that the Igbos are being marginalised in the Nigerian polity.

Both political parties produced Alhaji Atiku Abubakar and Sen Bola Tinubu as their respective presidential candidates, contrary to insinuations among the Igbo that the political parties would zone the tickets to the South East.

The national president of the group, Chief Emeka Diwe, made this known in a release.

In his words: “The ASETU condemns the outcome of the recently concluded presidential primary elections of the two major political parties, APC, and the PDP, whereby they failed to produce a South-East presidential candidate.

“The outcome of the primaries vividly confirms our continuous cry over the years through various press releases, communiques and other sundry publications regarding the sordid marginalization of Ndigbo within the Nigeria polity. Our fear is that this ugly incidence has graduated to the terrible state of alienation.

“For us, there could be no better time to ensure that Igbo man deservedly becomes the president of Nigeria than now.”

It said going by the constitutions of the major political parties, they were expected to zone the president to the South,and ‘South East was to be the automatic beneficiary being the only zone that has not tasted either the exalted position of the president or vice president since the democratic dispensation that started in 1999’.

The group said, “The South West has had the president for eight years and vice president for eight years by May 29, 2023.

READ ALSO:  Financial Expert Proffers Solution Against illicit Financial Flow In Nigeria, Hints On Strategy Of Curbing Insecurity, Others

“The South South had the president for six years and the vice president for two years, leaving the South East with none.

“It is only equitable that the South East produces the next president of Nigeria which begins with all the political parties fielding an Igbo presidential candidate.

“The Igbo had made such concession to the Yoruba in the past. But the deep rooted hatred for Ndigbo by other tribes in Nigeria has played out, hence the ruling APC and PDP refused to cede their presidential tickets to the South East, rather, they went to yet another northerner for PDP and a Yoruba for APC.”

ASETU described the outcome of the primaries as ‘brazen injustice and marginalization’.

It however commended former minister of science and technology, Ogbonnaya Onu, for his courage.

ASETU thanked delegates from Ebonyi State for casting their votes for Gov Dave Umahi. It further decried other delegates from South-East region for casting their votes ‘against their brothers’.

It concluded that, “The party primaries have also exposed the real saboteurs in Igbo land. These are the South-East delegates who were chosen to represent Ndigbo but went there to fest their nest.

“They practically sold out their Igbo brothers and voted for aspirants of other regions obviously because of money.”

Diewe declared that, “the party primaries have also exposed the real saboteurs in Igbo land. These are the South East delegates who were chosen to represent Ndigbo but went there to fest their nest. They practically sold out their Igbo brothers and voted for aspirants of other regions obviously because of money.

READ ALSO:  "Release the Video of Your Achievements for Abia South as Senator, Not the Rhetoric of Your Unholy Marriage With Orji Uzor Kalu" - Group Lambasts Abaribe

“Records showed that five South Eastern States had about 389 delegates/votes in the case of the APC. Of this number, Ebonyi State had 39 delegates, Imo 100, Anambra 100, Abia 100 and Enugu 50 votes. But shamefully, only 40 votes from this number went to South East aspirants. It is important to mention that 39 of the 40 votes came from Ebonyi State delegates.

“Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi State got 38 votes while Dr Ogbonanya Onu had one vote. The other one vote went to Hon. Emeka Nwajiuba. The question is who did other Igbo delegates of South East vote for? Certainly contestants from other zones.

“It is for this patriotic reason that ASETU, therefore, thumbs up for all the delegates from Ebonyi State for making the Igbo proud. They did not sell out nor allow their reasoning to be swayed by pecuniary interest. They are the true sons of their forefathers. They have made the Igbo HALL OF FAME with appropriate rank and designation.

“As for those shameless desecrators of their fatherland, we have traditional way of handling such deviants. We therefore call on all the traditional heads and “Aka-ji-Ofors” of Igbo land to do the needful with their Ofo. While calling on the aged Umuada/Umuokpu to do the needful with their hindsight.

“We have directed all the Presidents-General in the affected areas to compile their names for subsequent exposure and committal unto a disgraceful hall of ‘shame’. Enough is enough!”

Do you have any information or event for candid reporters to publish or cover? Kindly Call us on 09019260726 or send us message on Whatsapp number 07034623382 or send us an email

Disclaimer: Candid Reporters publishes news, information, sports, opinions, and Interviews. The site includes both reported and edited content. Unmoderated posts and Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Candid Reporters or any employee thereof..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here