Chief Sir Okechukwu Ambrose Ahiwe has emerged winner in the just concluded Abia State Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) primary re-run election conducted February 4, 2023.

Chief Ahiwe, the Chief of staff to Abia State Governor had a total of 469 votes ahead of other contestants.

The re-run election was conducted at the Umuahia township stadium in the capital of Abia state.

The results were declared by governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo state, the Chairman of the PDP special electoral committee for fresh gubernatorial election in Abia state.

READ ALSO:  NBC Fines Arise TV N2m Over Fake Report On Tinubu
PHOTO: Governor Okezie Victor Ikpeazu and Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo state.

Rt Hon Ude Okochukwu, the deputy governor of Abia state also participated in re-run election and scored 12 votes, Lucky Igbokwe also had 12 votes, Dr Sampson Orji scored 11 votes, Senator Emma Nwaka had 0 vote , 12 invalid votes was recorded.

However, there were some horse trading before the commencement of the election that swung the tide in Favour of the PDP candidate when some aspirants: Eric Opa, Bob Ogu, and Ezinwayi Jonah stepped down for Okey Ahiaiwe.

READ ALSO:  Full Text Of Bishop Kukah's Christmas Day Speech That Attracted Call For Resignation By Muslim Group

The rerun primary election follows the death of Uchenna Ikonne, the party’s governorship candidate in the state.

Mr Ikonne, a professor and former vice chancellor of the Abia State University Uturu, passed away on 25 January 2023 at the National Hospital Abuja, according to a statement from his first son, Uche-Ikonne Chikezie, on behalf of the family.

Do you have any information or event for candid reporters to publish or cover? Kindly Call us on 09019260726 or send us message on Whatsapp number 07034623382 or send us an email

Disclaimer: Candid Reporters publishes news, information, sports, opinions, and Interviews. The site includes both reported and edited content. Unmoderated posts and Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Candid Reporters or any employee thereof..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here