The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has left out the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Mr Valentine Ozigbo, and Professor Chukwuma Soludo, of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), on the list of cleared candidates for the November 6 Anambra governorship election.

The electoral body said its decision to exclude any PDP candidate was in recognition of judgments and court orders served in relation to the primary election of the party.

A federal capital territory (FCT) high court had on Thursday ordered INEC to suspend moves to publish any name as the governorship candidate of the PDP.

READ ALSO:  Senator Ekweremadu Declears Interest To Run In 2023 Election

Ozigbo and Ugochukwu Uba had emerged as the PDP’s governorship candidates from parallel primary elections.

Ozigbo subsequently filed an ex parte application on July 14 asking the court to recognise him as the authentic governorship candidate of the party.

The presiding judge refused to grant Ozigbo’s prayer but instead issued an order of accelerated hearing of the suit.

He gave the respondents – PDP and INEC – five days from the day the applicant’s originating processes were filed to “file and serve their counter-affidavit, written addresses and, or preliminary objection to the instant suit”.

READ ALSO:  Court Dismisses Suit Filed Against Gov Obaseki

See document below ?

Recall that Soludo had emerged the winner of the APGA faction loyal to Governor Willie Obiano.

However, INEC cleared the candidate of the other APGA faction, Chukwuma Micheal Umeoji, for the governorship election, leaving the fate of Soludo hanging.

Do you have any information or event for candid reporters to publish or cover? Kindly Call us on 09019260726 or send us message on Whatsapp number 07034623382 or send us an email

Disclaimer: Candid Reporters publishes news, information, sports, opinions, and Interviews. The site includes both reported and edited content. Unmoderated posts and Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of Candid Reporters or any employee thereof..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here